Nigeria’s former Minister of Finance and current Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, Ngozi Okonjo Iweala has just been named Forbes African of the Year 2020, making her the first woman to bag the award.

Forbes Africa made this known in a tweet on Tuesday, December 1, saying:

“The 2020 #AfricanOftheYear Award honoree is…Congratulations to Dr. @NOlweala! Board Chair @Gavi; Board Chair @ARCapicity, gracing the cover of @forbesafrica.”

Similar Story – Transcorp Appoints First Female Vice Chairman

In response to the news, Okonjo-Iweala tweeted her appreciation of the Forbes African of the year award and what an honour it was to be walking in the footsteps of other Nigerians who won the award previously.

In 2019, Akinwumi Adesina, president of the African Development Bank (AfDB), won the award for his outstanding work at the bank and a sterling career in agriculture and finance.

Paul Kagame of Rwanda won the same award in 2018.

Other eminent Nigerians to have bagged the award are former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria Muhammad Sanusi II (2011) and Aliko Dangote (2014).

Join The Exquisite VIPs
We Want To Send You Free Copies Of Exquisite Magazine Digital FREE For 3 Months

Sign Up to our Exclusive VIP list and have it delivered to your inbox for FREE

Invalid email address
(We promise you won't receive daily spammy sales from us)

Leave a Reply