The nominations for the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards have been unveiled. Rema has earned three nominations in the categories of Best Collaboration, Song of the Year, and the Best Afrobeats category. Not far behind, Ayra Starr secured two nominations in the Best Afrobeats category.

A lineup of notable artists including Davido, Burna Boy, Wizkid, Asake, Fireboy DML, Libianca, and Musa Keys have each earned nominations in the Best Afrobeats category. You can cast your vote by clicking here.

However, the global music landscape boasts a range of dynamic contenders. Taylor Swift and SZA have surged to the forefront with an impressive eight and six nominations, respectively. These powerhouse talents have made their mark across multiple categories, particularly shining in the Video of the Year. Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Olivia Rodrigo, Sam Smith, and Kim Petras are all in the spotlight with five nominations each.

Mark your calendars as the event is set to take place on September 12 at the Prudential Centre in Newark, New Jersey. Check out the complete list of nominations below:

Best Afrobeats Ayra Starr – “Rush” Burna Boy – “It’s Plenty” Davido ft. Musa Keys – “Unavailable” Fireboy DML & Asake – ”Bandana” Libianca – “People” Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down” Wizkid ft. Ayra Starr – “2 Sugar”

Video of the Year Doja Cat – “Attention” Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy” SZA – “Kill Bill” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year Beyoncé Doja Cat Karol G Nicki Minaj Shakira Taylor Swift

Song of the Year Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down” Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy” Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit” SZA – “Kill Bill” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best New Artist GloRilla Ice Spice Kaliii Peso Pluma PinkPantheress Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year August 2022: Saucy Santana – “Booty” September 2022: Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You” October 2022: JVKE – “golden hour” November 2022: Flo Milli – “Conceited” December 2022: Reneé Rapp – “Colorado” January 2023: Sam Ryder – “All The Way Over” February 2023: Armani White – “GOATED” March 2023: Fletcher – “Becky’s So Hot” April 2023: Tomorrow X Together – “Sugar Rush Ride” May 2023: Ice Spice – “Princess Diana” June 2023: FLO – “Losing You” July 2023: Lauren Spencer Smith – “That Part”

Best Collaboration David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)” Post Malone & Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)” Diddy ft. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On” KAROL G & Shakira – “TQG” Metro Boomin ft. The Weeknd, 21 Savage, Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)” Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”

Best Pop Demi Lovato – “Swine” Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night” Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed” Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” P!NK – “Trustfall” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best Hip-Hop Diddy ft. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On” DJ Khaled ft. Drake & Lil Baby – “STAYING ALIVE” GloRilla & Cardi B – “Tomorrow 2” Lil Uzi Vert – “Just Wanna Rock” Lil Wayne ft. Swizz Beatz & DMX – “Kant Nobody” Metro Boomin ft. Future – “Superhero (Heroes and Villains)” Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Best Rock Foo Fighters – “The Teacher” Linkin Park – “Lost (Original Version)” Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Tippa My Tongue” Måneskin – “The Loneliest” Metallica – “Lux Æterna” Muse – “You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween”

Best Alternative Blink-182 – “Edging” Boygenius – “The Film” Fall Out Boy – “Hold Me Like a Grudge” Lana Del Rey ft. Jon Batiste – “Candy Necklace” Paramore – “This Is Why” Thirty Seconds To Mars – “Stuck”

Best Latin Anitta – “Funk Rave” Bad Bunny – “Where She Goes” Eslabon Armado & Peso Pluma – “Ella Baila Sola” Grupo Frontera & Bad Bunny – “un x100to” Karol G & Shakira – “TQG” Rosalía – “Despechá” Shakira – “Acróstico”

Best R&B Alicia Keys ft. Lucky Daye – “Stay” Chlöe ft. Chris Brown – “How Does It Feel” Metro Boomin ft. The Weeknd, 21 Savage, Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)” SZA – “Shirt” Toosii – “Favorite Song” Yung Bleu & Nicki Minaj – “Love In The Way”

Best K-Pop Aespa – “Girls” Blackpink – “Pink Venom” Fiffty Fifty – “Cupid” Seventeen – “Super” Stray Kids – “S-Class” Tomorrow X Together – “Sugar Rush Ride”

Video for Good Alicia Keys – “If I Ain’t Got You (Orchestral)” Bad Bunny – “El Apagón – Aquí Vive Gente” Demi Lovato – “Swine” Dove Cameron – “Breakfast” Imagine Dragons – “Crushed” Maluma – “La Reina”

Best Cinematography Adele – “I Drink Wine” Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed” Janelle Monae – “Lipstick Lover” Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best Direction Doja Cat – “Attention” Drake – “Falling Back” Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy” SZA – “Kill Bill” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Join The Exquisite VIPs
We Want To Send You Free Copies Of Exquisite Magazine Digital FREE For 3 Months

Sign Up to our Exclusive VIP list and have it delivered to your inbox for FREE

Invalid email address
(We promise you won't receive daily spammy sales from us)

Leave a Reply